Lillihei faces challenger for Breezy Point mayoral seat

Candidates across central Minnesota put their names on the ballot for area city, township, school district and special election seats.

Photo illustration, Metro Creative Graphics, Inc.

Tom Lillihei, the incumbent mayor of Breezy Point, now has a challenger this election season as 2020’s second filing period ramps up and hopefuls declare themselves for local public office across Crow Wing, Morrison, Aitkin, Todd, Wadena, Mille Lacs and Cass counties.

Candidates can declare to seek election for area city, township, school board and special district seats during the current filing period that began Tuesday, July 28, and extends through Aug. 11.

This includes municipalities without a primary election, which is the general rule in the area with the exception of Brainerd. The general election is Nov. 3. The filing fee is $2, paid to the city, township or school office clerks.

The following candidates have filed between 8 a.m. Thursday, July 30, to 5 p.m. Monday, Aug. 3. Directions for the filing process can be found at .

Cities and townships

Lake Shore Mayor


  • Krista Knudsen.

Lake Shore City Council (Elect Two)

  • Wayne Anderson (incumbent).

  • Henry Cote.

Pine River Mayor

  • Tamara Hansen (incumbent).

Walker City Council (Elect Two)

  • Gary Wilkening (incumbent).

Cass Lake Mayor

  • Herschel J. Ogema (incumbent).

Fairview Township Supervisor Seat 2

  • Jim Weizenegger (incumbent).

Baxter Mayor

  • Darrel Olson (incumbent).

Breezy Point Mayor

  • Tom Lillihei (incumbent).

  • Todd Roggenkamp.

Breezy Point City Council (Elect Two)


  • Rebecca Ball (incumbent).

  • Mark Miller.

Crosby Mayor

  • Rick Ferrari.

Crosby City Council (Elect Two)

  • Jim Traylor.

Gail Lake Township Special Election for Town Supervisor 1

  • William “Bill” Johnson (incumbent).

Gail Lake Township Town Clerk-Treasurer

  • Carol Johnson (incumbent).

Ironton City Council (Elect Two)

  • Eric Heglund (incumbent).

Jenkins City Council (Elect Two)

  • Debbie Stiller-Siltman.

Jenkins Township Town Supervisor 2

  • Michael Dubay (incumbent).

Jenkins Township Treasurer


  • Cheryl Stuckmayer (incumbent).

Mission Township Town Supervisor B (Special Election)

  • Bob Steele.

Mission Township Town Clerk

  • Anna Anderson (incumbent).

School districts

Brainerd School Board

  • Kevin Boyles.

Pequot Lakes School Board

  • Kimberly Bolz-Andolshek (incumbent).

  • Curtis Keith Johnson (incumbent).

  • Susan Mathison-Young (incumbent).

  • Amy A. Sjoblad.

Pine River-Backus School Board

  • Christopher Cunningham (incumbent).

  • Roger Hoplin.

  • David Sheley Jr. (incumbent).

What To Read Next
Get Local


Must Reads