Absentee voting begins for August primary election

Voters can visit to apply for a ballot, find their polling place, check their registration status and view a sample ballot for their precinct.

Minnesota voters wishing to weigh in on the Aug. 9 primary election may now vote early by absentee ballot.
Photo illustration
We are part of The Trust Project.

Minnesota voters wishing to weigh in on the Aug. 9 primary election may now vote early by absentee ballot.

Voters can visit to apply for a ballot, find their polling place, check their registration status and view a sample ballot for their precinct.

In Crow Wing County, absentee ballots will be mailed out the week of Monday, June 27, to those voters who have already requested an absentee ballot. Contact Crow Wing County Elections at 218-824-1051 or for more information.

Absentee voting in-person polling locations

Aitkin County

  • Government Center, 307 Second St. NW, Aitkin, MN 56431.

Cass County


  • East Gull Lake — East Gull Lake City Hall, 10790 Gull Point Road, East Gull Lake, MN 56401.
  • Fairview Township, Lake Shore — Lake Shore City Hall, 8583 Interlachen Road, Lake Shore, MN 56468.
  • Bena, Cass Lake, Federal Dam, Gould Township, Ottertail Peninsula Township, Pike Bay Township, Sucker Lakes, Wilkinson Township and Winnie Portage Lakes — Leech Lake Reservation Tribal Headquarters, 190 Sailstar Drive NW, Cass Lake, MN 56633.
  • Barclay Township, Chickamaw Beach, Loon Lake Township, Maple Township, Pine River, Pine River Township, Ponto Lake Township, Walden Township — Pine River City Hall, 200 Front St. N., Pine River, MN 56474.
  • Sylvan Township — Sylvan Town Hall, 12956 24th Ave. SW, Pillager, MN 56473.

Crow Wing County

  • Elections Office, Historic Courthouse, 326 Laurel St., Brainerd, MN 56401. In-person voting hours are 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday through Friday until Aug. 8. The courthouse will also be open 10 a.m.-3 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 6.

Mille Lacs County

  • Historic Courthouse, 635 Second St. E, Milaca, MN 56353.

Morrison County

  • Government Center, 213 First Ave. SE, Little Falls, MN 56345

Todd County

  • Historic Courthouse, 215 First Ave. S., Suite 201, Long Prairie, MN 56347.

Wadena County

  • County Courthouse, 415 Jefferson St. S., Wadena, MN 56482.

Primary races

The primary election in Minnesota will take place Aug. 9 to determine which candidates will be on the ballot for the Nov. 8 general election.

In partisan primary races, the top vote-getter advances. In the nonpartisan races listed here, the top two vote-getters will advance.

7th Congressional District


  • Democratic Party — Jill Abahsain vs. Alycia R. Gruenhagen.

8th Congressional District

  • Democratic Party — John Munter vs. Jen Schultz.
  • Republican Party — Pete Stauber (incumbent) vs. Harry Robb Welty.

Senate District 2

  • Republican Party — Steve Green vs. Edward Strickland.

Senate District 5

  • Republican Party — Dale A. P. Anderson vs. Bret Bussman vs. Paul J. Utke (incumbent).

Senate District 7

  • DFL Party — Ben DeNucci vs. Kim (Kotanias) McLaughlin.

Senate District 10

  • Republican Party — Jim Newberger vs. Steve Wenzel vs. Nathan Wesenberg.

House District 5B

  • Republican Party — Sheldon Monson vs. Mike Wiener.

House District 6B

  • Republican Party — Josh Heintzeman (incumbent) vs. Doug Kern.

House District 10A


  • Republican Party — Ron Kresha (incumbent) vs. Charles “Chuck” Parins.

House District 10B

  • Republican Party — Blake Paulson vs. Isaac Schultz vs. John Ulrick.

Aitkin County

  • Commissioner District 3 — Travis J. Leiviska, Patrick Murphy, Don Niemi (incumbent).
  • Commissioner District 5 — Michael L. Kearney, Ann Marcotte (incumbent), Doug McNeil.

Cass County

  • Soil and water supervisor, District 5 — Jennifer O’Neill, Jon D. Osowski, Bob Wright.

Crow Wing County

  • Commissioner District 3 — Steve Barrows (incumbent), Tad A. Erickson, Keith M. Johnson, Jazz Ness, Jacob White.

Mille Lacs County

  • Sheriff — Patrick Broberg, Kyle A. Burton, Travis Johnson, Ryan VanDenheuvel.

Todd County

  • Commissioner District 4 — Nikki Deyle, Robert Henrich, Lew Noska.

Wadena County

  • Commissioner District 1 — Don Burns, Victor M. Kern, Ron Noon.
  • Sheriff — Mike Carr Jr. (incumbent), Jason Hofer, Milo Scott.


  • Council member, Ward 1, special election — William Bieser, Leonard D. Skillings, Kara Terry.
  • Council member, Ward 4 — Gabe Johnson (incumbent), Emily LeClaire, Johnathan Miller.
Related Topics: ELECTION 2022
Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "staff." Often, the "staff" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.

Hi, I'm the Brainerd Dispatch. I started working a few days before Christmas in 1881 and became a daily paper two years later. I've gone through a lot of changes over the years, but what has never changed is my commitment to community and to local journalism. I've got an entire team of dedicated people who work night and day to make sure I go out every morning, whether in print, as an e-edition, via an app or with additional information at News, weather, sports — videos, photos, podcasts and social media — all covering stories from central Minnesota about your neighbors, your lakes, your communities, your challenges and your opportunities. It's all part of the effort to keep people connected and informed. And we couldn't do it without support.
What to read next
More support needed as homeowners, nonprofits, businesses work on long recovery process
The project will consist of regrading the intersection to accommodate left turn lanes and a new bituminous surface. Construction is planned to begin Monday, Aug. 22, and run through Sept. 9.
The event was originally scheduled for Thursday, Aug. 18, but will take place at a later date.
Students recognized for academic performance