New candidate files for Brainerd School Board race

Photo illustration, Metro Creative Graphics, Inc.

A new candidate has entered the race for the Brainerd School Board, marking another non-incumbent who looks to bring a different perspective to the district’s governing body.

With the Nov. 3 Election Day looming on the calendar, 2020’s second filing period is coming together as hopefuls declare themselves for local public office across Crow Wing, Morrison, Aitkin, Todd, Wadena, Mille Lacs and Cass counties.

Candidates can declare to seek election for area city, township, school board and special district seats during the current filing period that began July 28 and extends through Tuesday, Aug. 11.

This includes municipalities without a primary election, which is the general rule in the area with the exception of Brainerd. The general election is Nov. 3. The filing fee is $2, paid to city, township or school office clerks.

The following candidates have filed between 8 a.m. Wednesday, Aug. 5, and 5 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 6. Directions for the filing process can be found at .


Cities and townships

Crosslake Mayor

  • David Nevin (incumbent).

Crosslake City Council (Elect Two)

  • Catherine Funk.

St. Mathias Township Town Clerk

  • Cassey Veith (incumbent).

Jenkins Township Town Supervisor 3

  • Steven Lindsay Cox (incumbent).

Jenkins Mayor

  • Robert Heidelberger.

  • Jon W. Lubke (incumbent).

Cass Lake City Council (Elect Two)

  • Mike Hanson (incumbent).

Pillager Mayor

  • Bret Matheison (incumbent).

Pillager City Council (Elect Two)


  • Adam Sparrow.

  • Shawn Thayer (incumbent).

Remer Mayor

  • Mike Gravelle (incumbent).

Torrey Township Town Supervisor 2

  • Dan Gielen (incumbent).

Torrey Township Town Treasurer

  • Ione Boor (incumbent).

Walker City Council (Elect Two)

  • Char Moore (incumbent).

Nisswa City Council (Elect Two)

  • Mark Utzinger.

Backus Mayor

  • Kurt Sawyer (incumbent).

Backus City Council (Elect Two)

  • John Wieber (incumbent).

East Gull Lake Mayor


  • Dave Kananaugh (incumbent).

East Gull Lake City Council (Elect Two)

  • Tim Bergin (incumbent).

  • Carol Deugen.

Hiram Township Town Supervisor 1

  • David Morris (incumbent).

Hiram Township Town Supervisor 2

  • James McGill (incumbent).

Wabedo Township Town Supervisor 3

  • Robert Adelmann (incumbent).

School districts

Brainerd School Board

  • Jacquelyn Calos.

Pine River-Backus School Board

  • Dawn Rubner (incumbent).

What To Read Next
Get Local