Pierz teacher semifinalist for Minnesota Teacher of the Year

Pierz sign

Faye Sandy, a sixth grade math teacher at Pioneer Elementary School in Pierz, is among 36 finalists for the 2020 Minnesota Teacher of the Year award.

A selection panel of 24 community leaders chose semifinalists from an initial field of 135 candidates from across the state.

The panel will review the semifinalists’ portfolios again and review video submissions in late March and will select about 10 finalists from among the group. The current Minnesota Teacher of the Year, Jessica Davis, will announce her successor at a banquet May 3 at the St. Paul RiverCentre.

Education Minnesota, the statewide educators union, organizes and underwrites the Teacher of the Year program. Candidates include pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade, early childhood family education, and adult basic education teachers from public and private schools. The Minnesota Teacher of the Year Program also receives support from the following organizations: Education Minnesota ESI, Educators Lifetime Solutions, EFS Advisors, Harvard Club of Minnesota Foundation, SMART Technologies and United Educators Credit Union.

What To Read Next
Get Local