Race for Pequot Lakes mayor now a two-way race

Photo illustration, Metro Creative Graphics, Inc.

The incumbent mayor of Pequot Lakes filed for another term, setting the stage for a showdown between James Tayloe and former council member Tyler Gardner, who resigned in 2014.

With the Nov. 3 Election Day looming on the calendar, 2020’s second filing period is coming together as hopefuls declare themselves for local public office across Crow Wing, Morrison, Aitkin, Todd, Wadena, Mille Lacs and Cass counties.

Candidates can declare to seek election for area city, township, school board and special district seats during the current filing period that began July 28 and extends through Tuesday, Aug. 11.

This includes municipalities without a primary election, which is the general rule in the area with the exception of Brainerd. The general election is Nov. 3. The filing fee is $2, paid to city, township or school office clerks.

The following candidates filed Monday, Aug. 10. Directions for the filing process can be found at .


Cities and townships

Baxter City Council (Elect Two)

  • Mark Cross (incumbent).

Pequot Lakes City Council (Elect Two)

  • Scott Pederson (incumbent).

Pequot Lakes Mayor

  • James Tayloe (incumbent).

Crosby City Council (Elect Two)

  • Paul Heglund (incumbent).

Crosslake City Council (Elect Two)

  • Aaron S. Herzog (incumbent).

Remer City Council (Elect Two)

  • Brandon Nelson.

Little Pine Township Town Supervisor A

  • David Kauphusman (incumbent).

Ross Lake Township Town Supervisor 2


  • Dan A. Newman.

Nokay Lake Township Town Supervisor C

  • Dale Thompson (incumbent).

Nokay Lake Township Town Clerk

  • Alan Cunningham (incumbent).

School districts

Brainerd School Board

  • Emily LeClaire.

What To Read Next
Get Local