Tuesday marks Township Day, when residents can meet, vote with neighbors

Tuesday offers some residents the opportunity to engage in direct democracy.

Photo illustration, Metro Creative Graphics, Inc.

Some central Minnesota residents will have the opportunity to participate in direct democracy during township elections Tuesday, March 9.

Tuesday, known as Township Day, represents a key gathering for townships across the state, of which there are approximately 1,781 in all, home to roughly 914,174 residents. It’s an opportunity to vote on township tax levies as well as vote on and discuss any major ballot measures at the annual meeting. Some townships also elect town officers.

The tradition of a town meeting has roots in colonial America. New England town meetings gave citizens a way to exercise local authority. Those meetings were especially important in the development of democracy because it emphasized problem-solving through group efforts, a news release from the Minnesota Association of Townships stated.

Townships were the original form of local government in Minnesota, established in the 1800s when Congress ordered a survey that divided the Minnesota territory into 36-square-mile tracts of land. Today, the term “township” generally refers to public corporations governed by a local board of supervisors and created to provide services to residents.

The following Crow Wing County townships host elections on Tuesday:


  • Bay Lake Township: Town hall at 13861 County Highway 10, Deerwood.

  • Center Township: Town hall at 24491 County Highway 19, Merrifield.

  • Crow Wing Township: Town hall at 6930 Cuyuna Ave., Brainerd.

  • Daggett Brook Township: Town hall at 14074 County Highway 2, Brainerd.

  • Fairfield Township: Town hall at 33108 Dangers Road, Crosby.

  • Fort Ripley Township: Town hall at 5190 Legend Lane, Fort Ripley.

  • Ideal Township: Town hall at 35458 Butternut Point Road, Pequot Lakes.

  • Maple Grove Township: Town hall at 10013 County Road 108.

  • Rabbit Lake Township: Town hall at 24958 Town Hall Road, Aitkin.

  • Roosevelt Township: Town hall at 22613 County Highway 2, Brainerd.

In the case of inclement weather, township meetings and elections may occur the following Tuesday, March 16. Check with local township officials for polling hours and meeting times.

What To Read Next
Inmates in-custody in the Todd County jail in Long Prairie, Minnesota
Inmates in-custody in the Wadena County jail in Wadena, Minnesota
Inmates in-custody in the Aitkin County jail in Aitkin, Minnesota
Inmates in-custody in the Beltrami County jail in Bemidji, Minnesota