Weather Forecast


Area Girls Tennis: Warriors win 5 individual titles, team title in Moose Tournament

The Brainerd Warriors won five individual championships and the team title in their Moose Tournament at Brainerd High School Saturday, Sept. 8.

Singles champs for the Warriors were Britney Fletcher at No. 1 and Kate Kurtzman at No. 2.

Brainerd captured all doubles titles with Taya Person-Heidi Jacobson winning at No. 1, Jaycie Hinrichs-Lily Jones at No. 2 and Ally Goeden-Addie Sanford at No. 3.

"We always look forward to this tournament as we see so many teams outside of our section and conference," Warriors coach Lisa Salo said. "With the no-ad scoring format for this tournament, it provides us a chance to work through pressure situations which is good for us to experience at this stage in our season.

"We had a solid team effort today. Every athlete stayed focused and competed well. Our accomplishments in this tournament capped off a strong week of tennis. Now, we head back to the practice courts to prepare for the coming week."

Runner-up Pequot Lakes won the other singles titles with Courtney Boller pacing the competition at No. 3 and Madeline Pluimer winning at No. 4.

For the season, Pequot Lakes' Aston Crocker-Morgan Lueck have a 19-1 record in doubles, Courtney Boller is 19-1 in singles, Madeline Pluimer 18-2 and Megan Muller 17-2.

Team scores: 1-Brainerd 24 points, 2-Pequot Lakes 21, 3-(tie) Coon Rapids and East Grand Forks 17, 5-Roseau 14, 6-New Prague 8, 7-Glencoe Silver Lake 6, 8-Big Lake 4


No. 1: 1st-Britney Fletcher 4-0

No. 2: 1st-Kate Kurtzman 4-0

No. 3: 4th-Kate Chaussee 2-2

No. 4: 2nd-Chloe Pecarich 3-1


No. 1: 1st-Taya Person-Heidi Jacobson 4-0

No. 2: 1st-Jaycie Hinrichs-Lily Jones 4-0

No. 3: 1st-Ally Goeden-Addie Sanford 4-0

Next: Willmar at Brainerd 4:30 p.m. Tuesday, Sept 11.

Pequot Lakes Results


No. 1: 2nd-Megan Muller 3-1

No. 2: 3rd-Morgan Mudgett 3-1

No. 3: 1st Courtney Boller 4-0

No. 4: 1st-Madeline Pluimer 4-0


No. 1: 5th-Alexa Fyle-Elli Saxerud 2-2

No. 2: 3rd-Erin Bengtson-Madeline Sherman 2-2

No. 3: 2nd-Aston Crocker-Morgan Lueck 3-1

Next: Pequot Lakes at Long Prairie-Grey Eagle Triangular 2 p.m. Monday, Sept 10.