Craig Orlando registered three pins in less than a minute, but the Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale/Parkers Prairie Raiders couldn't build on it as they finished sixth in the Class 1A Team Tournament Thursday, Feb. 28, at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.

Quinn Kern also won three matches at 120 pounds and David Revering was 2-0 at 106 pounds for the Raiders, who fell to Goodhue 38-23 in the consolation championship.

BHVPP jumped out to a 10-3 edge after a Revering pin and a Kern major decision. Goodhue then rattled off six straight pins capped off with a 1:03 pin from Kelby O'Reilly at 160 pounds.

Gideon Ervasti stopped the bleeding with a decision followed by Zavier Grefe's 15-0 technical fall, but Goodhue sealed the deal with back-to-back pins before Orlando posted a 41-second pin to close out the Raiders' season.

---   ---   ---   ---   ---

Class 1A Wrestling Team Tournament

  • Raiders place 6th
  • Aitkin: Gobblers fall twice
  • Overall: Aitkin 15-14; BHVPP 20-5
  • Next: Class 1A State Individual Tournament at Xcel Energy Center, St. Paul, 9 a.m. Friday, March 1

---   ---   ---   ---   ---

BHVPP opened the tournament with a 49-14 loss to No. 2 seeded Tracy-Milroy-Balaton-Westbrook-Walnut Grove.

Revering won by decision, Kern scored a technical fall and Orlando scored a 55-second pin for the Raiders' 14 points.

The Raiders eliminated Aitkin 52-18 in the consolation semifinals.

Aitkin's Quin Miller scored a 10-7 decision at 160 pounds to pull the Gobblers to a 23-21 deficit. The Raiders answered with pins from Ervasti, Grefe, Tyler Eggert and Orlando.

Devin Dean, Hunter Dean and Jason Koehn also scored pins for BHVPP.

Aitkin's Marshall Larson opened the match with a pin at 106 and Craig Ashton posted a pin at 195 for the Gobblers.

Aitkin opened the day with a 52-18 loss to No. 3 seeded Kenyon-Wanamingo.

Larson opened with a decision, but K-W built a 16-3 lead after four matches. Jack Gravelle posted a major decision followed by Luke Pelarski's decision to push the score to 16-10.

K-W then posted four pins in five matches. The lone loss was a Tyler Spolarich technical fall at 160 pounds. Ashton added a decision for Aitkin's 18 points.


Consolation championship

Goodhue 38, BHVPP 23

106: David Revering (BHVPP) pinned Ryan Bortz (G) 3:30

113: Makae O'Reilly (G) dec. Deagen Captain 8-4

120: Quinn Kern (BHVPP) maj. Dec. Ryley Christianson 18-4

126: Carson Morken (G) dec. Jason Koehn 9-5

132: Maddox O'Reilly (G) dec. Trever Arceneau 10-4

138: Bjorn Otterness (G) maj. Dec. Brock Peterson 11-3

145: Travis Gadient (G) dec. Devin Dean 3-1

152: Baxter O'Reilly (G) maj. Dec. Hunter Dean 15-6

160: Kelby O'Reilly (G) pinned Mason Schroeder 1:03

170: Gideon Ervasti (BHVPP) dec. Kyle Schoenfelder 14-7

182: Zavier Grefe (BHVPP) tech. fall Cody Lohman 15-0

195: Kaleb O'Reilly (G) pinned Jaden Finck 4:58

220: Kodee O'Reilly (G) pinned Tyler Eggert 5:28

285: Craig Orlando (BHVPP) pinned Matthew Betcher 0:41


Consolation semifinals

Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale/Parkers Prairie 47, Aitkin 27

106: Marshall Larson (A) pinned Aiden Larson 1:45

113: Walker Jones (A) maj. dec. Deagen Captain 12-4

120: Quinn Kern (BHVPP) tech. fall Carson Kullhem 20-2

126: Jason Koehn (BHVPP) pinned Nathan Rom 2:52

132: Jack Gravelle (A) maj. dec. Brock Peterson 12-3

138: Luke Pelarski (A) maj. dec. Trever Arceneau 19-10

145: Devin Dean (BHVPP) pinned Carter Endrizzi 3:46

152: Hunter Dean (BHVPP) pinned Tyler Spolarich 4:35

160: Quin Miller (A) dec. Travis Sakry 10-7

170: Gideon Ervasti (BHVPP) pinned Jack Workman 3:32

182: Zavier Grefe (BHVPP) pinned Austin Espeseth 0:25

195: Craig Ashton (A) pinned Jaden Finck 3:12

220: Tyler Eggert (BHVPP) pinned Cody Snyder 2:29

285: Craig Orlando (BHVPP) pinned Nathan Stifter 0:21



Kenyon-Wanamingo 52, Aitkin 18

106: Larson (A) dec. Dillon Bartell 11-9

113: Owen Scheffler (KW) maj. dec. Jones 14-0

120: Jeron Matson (KW) pinned Kullhem 0:22

126: Alec Johnson (KW) pinned Rom 5:02

132: Gravelle (A) maj. dec. Bray Olson 14-5

138: Pelarski (A) dec. Tyler Craig 14-7

145: Nathan Bauer (KW) pinned Endrizzi 2:34

152: Seth Brossard (KW) pinned Miller 3:11

160: Spolarich (A) tech. fall Logan Meyers 26-9

170: Tyler Ryan (KW) pinned Decent 1:14

182: Carter Quam (KW) pinned Workman 2:32

195: Ashton (A) dec. Owen Hilke 10-6

220: Kaya Lindell (KW) pinned Cody Snyder 0:36

285: Jesse Jackson (KW) pinned Stifter 0:10



Tracy-Milroy-Balaton-Westbrook-Walnut-Grove 49, BHVPP

106: David Revering (BHVPP) dec. Devin Carter (TMBWWG) 6-5

113: Ayden Horner (TMBWWG) pinned Deagen Captain 1:48

120: Quinn Kern (BHVPP) tech fall Jayden Torgeson 15-0

126: Luis Perez (TMBWWG) dec. Koehn 9-7

132: Derek Ellingson (TMBWWG) pinned Peterson 1:25

138: Tyler Vandenriessche (TMBWWG) dec. Arceneau 4-2

145: Anthony Axford (TMBWWG) dec. Devin Dean 9-3

152: Sawyer Schwartz (TMBWWG) maj. dec. Hunter Dean 12-4

160: Austin Axford (TMBWWG) pinned Mason Schroeder 2:58

170: Jace Paplow (TMBWWG) dec. Ervasti 11-4

182: Gabe Krick (TMBWWG) dec. Rokes 6-1

195: Trevor Eisfeld (TMBWWG) pinned Carter Perlinger 1:42

220: Travis Willhite (TMBWWG) pinned Eggert 2:40

285: Craig Orlando (BHVPP) pinned Sam Bauer 0:55