Tom Lyscio's athletic legacy is being recognized seven years later.

The Brainerd Warriors and St. Scholastica graduate was awarded with a spot on the Upper Midwest Athletic Conference All-Decade Track and Field Team.

"It was such a surprise and an honor to be awarded within the UMAC," Lyscio said. "The funniest part is that I didn't know I received this award until I read it through the grapevine on Facebook."

Lyscio recorded eight individual titles at the UMAC Indoor and Outdoor Championships, including three shot put titles in the outdoor season during his four years as a Saint.

In his senior year as a Saint, Lyscio qualified for the NCAA outdoor hammer throw National championships and finished 14th overall.

"Qualifying and going to Nationals was the most memorable part of my college years," Lyscio said. "It was the mecca of track and field-my ultimate goal."

Lyscio and 11 other collegiate track and field athletes were presented with this award.

Kirk Naumen, who ran the Saints track and field program from 2008-2016 and recorded 12 UMAC team championships, was named Coach of the Decade..

"I had success every year," Lyscio said, "We had really good coaches, Kirk Naumen and Todd Bouchie, they always held us to a high standard and helped us achieve our goals."

During Lyscio's time as a Warrior, he competed in football and Alpine skiing, but excelled in track and field being named Academic All-State 2005-2008 and All-Central Lakes Conference 2006-2008. He was inducted into the Warrior Hall of Fame.

"My time as a Warrior really stuck with me through college," Lyscio said. "Coach (Chet) Stevenson invested a lot of time and effort into me. He was my coach in both football and track and was like my dad away from home. Overall he was a big influence on my athletic career."

Lyscio graduated from Brainerd High School in the Spring of 2008 and studied Physical Therapy at St. Scholastica.

The 12 individuals named to the All-Decade Track and Field Team include: Todd Brassow (Martin Luther College, 2013-16), Chalmer Combellick (University of Minnesota Morris, 2013-17), Charles Corbett (University of Wisconsin-Superior, 2016*), Leandro Dower (Minnesota Morris, 2011-14), Taylor Gish (University of Northwestern, 2009-12), Justin Hanson (College of St. Scholastica, 2010-13), Tom Lyscio (St. Scholastica, 2009-12), Justin Pearson (Minnesota Morris, 2018-Present*), Jeremy Peterson (St. Scholastica, 2013-16), Thomas Udenberg (Wisconsin-Superior, 2016-17*) Billy Visto (Minnesota Morris, 2009-11*) and Kevin Wagner (St. Scholastica, 2013-16). The 2013 St. Scholastica team was the Men's Indoor Track and Field Team of the Decade and the 2013 St. Scholastica squad was the Men's Outdoor Track and Field Team of the Decade.