Area Football: Pierz players honored by district

Michael Leidenfrost.

The Pierz Pioneers landed six players on the Mid-State All-District team Wednesday, Nov. 25.

Senior running back and defensive back Michael Leidenfrost, senior quarterback Noah Cekalla, junior wide receiver and defensive end Zach Jones, junior running back and linebacker Ben Virnig, senior running back and defensive lineman Ross Boser and junior tight end, linebacker Jeremy Bingesser all landed spots on the all-district team.

Seniors Kolten Happke and Kamden Happke, junior Isaac Walcheski and sophomore Ian Oberfeld earned honorable mention selections.

Leidenfrost was named the district’s Defensive Back of the Year. Cekalla was named the Quarterback of the Year and Jones was named the Wide Receiver of the Year.

Pierz head coach Danny Saehr was named the District’s Coach of the Year after leading his team to an undefeated regular-season record and a spot in the Section 6-3A championship game.

Covering the Brainerd lakes area sports scene for the past 23 years.
What To Read Next
Get Local