Area Wrestling: Aitkin opens with big win

GRAND RAPIDS--Kenny Hesse recorded a 55-second pin to help the Aitkin Gobblers open their season with a 44-24 defeat of the Grand Rapids Thunderhawks.

GRAND RAPIDS-Kenny Hesse recorded a 55-second pin to help the Aitkin Gobblers open their season with a 44-24 defeat of the Grand Rapids Thunderhawks.

Jack Gravelle, Bryce Haugly, Jerod Novak and Kyle Lynn each scored pins and Noah Landrus recorded a technical fall for Aitkin.

Aitkin 44, Grand Rapids 23

106: Jack Gravelle (A) pinned Braden Jones 1:25

113: Kyle Lundberg (GR) dec. Luke Pelarski 8-4


120: Kellen Schauer (GR) maj. dec. Silas Berg 11-2

126: Scott Jones (GR) dec. Caine Owens 5-0

132: Cole Jones (GR) pinned Carter Endrizzi 1:11

138: Bryce Haugly (A) pinned Sam Burdick 3:11

145: Joe Palik (GR) dec. Tyler Bare 7-2

152: David Brenden (GR) maj. dec. Jake Pederson 15-4

160: Jerod Novak (A) pinned Jake Nelson 3:11

170: Noah Landrus (A) Tech. fall Brandon Frisby 2:34


182: Kenny Hesse (A) pinned Phillip Murphy 0:55

195: Kyle Lynn (A) pinned Garret Britten 3:02

220: Matt Vogtlin (A) wins by forfeit

285: Michael Roth (A) dec. Cole Walters 6-2

Overall: A 1-0. Next: Aitkin at Onamia triangular 6 p.m. Tuesday.

C-I splits

CLOQUET-Nate Williams was 2-0 with a pin and a technical fall for the Crosby-Ironton Rangers, who lost to Cloquet 44-14 and beat Nashwauk-Keewatin 39-39 at Thursday's Cloquet Triangular.

Kavin Blazek and Eli Winegarner went 2-0 with a pin for C-I, which beat N-K by criteria on the eighth tiebreaker.


Pins were also recorded by Jason Staley and Gabe Ryappy for the Rangers.

Team scores

Cloquet-Esko 44, C-I 14

C-I 39, Nashwauk-Keewatin 39 won by 8th tiebreaker

Crosby-Ironton Results

106: Tyler Decent 1-1

113: Nate Williams 2-0

120: Jason Staley 1-1

126: Jake Klancher 1-0

132: Kavin Blazek 2-0

145: Zach Champagne 0-2

152: Jacoby Hammonds 0-2

160: Gabe Ryappy 1-1

170: Eli Winegarner 2-0

220: Taylor Eigenheer 0-2

Overall: C-I 1-1. Next: Crosby-Ironton at Detroit Lakes Triangular 5 p.m. Tuesday.

Road Crew wins 2

DEER RIVER-Spencer Richards went 2-0, pinning both his opponents, during the Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus Road Crews 65-6 win over Walker-Hackensack-Akeley-Nevis and 48-19 win over Deer River Thursday.

Riley Wilson, Addisoune Harrington, Reed Lebo, Jake Poehler, and Cody Booth all picked up their first varsity win for the Road Crew.

Team Scores

PLPRB vs. Walker-H-A 65-6

PLPRB vs. Deer River 48-19

PL/PRB Results

106: Riley Wilson 1-1

113: Addisoune Harrington 2-0

120: Reed Lebo 1-0, Peter Koring 0-1

126: Isaac Monthi 1-1

132: Kim Ryan 0-2

138: Jake Poehler 2-0

145: Spencer Richards 2-0 two pins

152: Tucker Cain 2-0

160: Nathaniel Adkins 2-0

170: Devyn Richards 1-1

182: Justin Neuman 2-0

195: Joe Harrison 2-0 (220 also)

220: John Urseth 1-0

285: John Urseth 1-0, Cody Booth 1-0

Overall: PLPRB 4-0. Next: Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus at Wadena-Deer Creek Tournament 10:30 a.m.

Little Falls 42, Sartell 25

SARTELL-Gabe Nagel's pin in 45 seconds was the quickest of six falls registered by the Little Falls Flyers in their 42-25 season opening, non-conference win over the Sartell Sabres Thursday.

Also winning by pin were Jacob Biermaier, Josh Beack, Trevin Larson, AJ Jenks and Dustin Tabatt.

Little Falls 42, Mora 25

106: Gabe Nagel (LF) pinned Patrick Hesse 0:45

113: Sam Fernholz (S) maj. dec. Spencer Stempke 10-2

120: Nick Pelach (S) maj. dec. Dakota Kern 15-6

126: Rylee Molitor (S) Tech fall over Leo Wilczek 17-0

132: Jacob Biermaier (LF) pinned Cristan Vance 2:50

138: Jake Fernholz (S) pinned Lane Rutten 3:13

145: Noah Peichel (S) dec. Wyatt Lillemoe 8-3

152: Josh Beack (LF) pinned Tyler Hubert 1:40

160: Lawton Miller (S) dec. Grant Litke 6-3

170: Trevin Larson (LF) pinned Avery Starz 1:38

182: AJ Jenks (LF) pinned Tyler Snoberger 3:39

195: Mickel Schultz (LF) dec. Cole Fibanz 2-0

220: Billy Winkelman (LF) dec. Charlie Beckering 7-1

285: Dustin Tabatt (LF) pinned Ben Strom 1:33

Overall: LF 1-0. Next: Little Falls at Coon Rapids Tournament 9 a.m. Saturday.

Mora 40, Pierz 34

PIERZ-Kolton Eischens pinned his opponent in 1:26 for the Pierz Pioneers in their season-opening 40-34 loss to the Mora Mustangs Thursday.

Ted Dehler, Matt Kummet also scored pins and Reese Kapsner and Brandon Ortman tallied technical falls for the Pioneers.

Mora 40, Pierz 34

106: Ryan Nosbush (M) pinned Isaac Otte 5:15

113: Konrad Blood (M) pinned Jake Andres 3:36

120: Reese Kapsner (P) tech. fall Joel Sawatzky 17-2

126: Drew VanVleet (M) pinned Sebastian Warzecha 3:23

132: Ethan Pracher (M) maj. dec Brandon Tomala 15-6

138: Brandon Ortman (P) tech. fall Isac Kelling 23-8

145: Luke Girtz (P) dec. John Smith 8-3

152: Kevin Brockner (M) pinned Jalen Jansen 2:50

160: Kolton Eischens (P) pinned Danny Schroder 1:26

170: Tyler Tober (M) pinned Logan Lease 2:05

182: Matt Kummet (P) pinned Richard LaFace 2:48

195: Brett Kapsner (P) dec. Nick Kelling 5-0

220: Ted Dehler (P) pinned Josh Bohnen 4:45

285: Ethan Simpson (M) pinned Brad Dehler 2:59

Overall: Prz 0-1. Next: Pierz at Foley Tournament 9 a.m. Saturday.

What To Read Next
The Central Lakes College Raiders hosted Rainy River Saturday, Feb. 4.
The Central Lakes College Raiders hosted Rainy River Saturday, Feb. 4.
The Central Lakes College Raiders hosted Hibbing Friday, Feb. 3.
The Central Lakes College Raiders hosted Gogebic Community College Friday, Feb. 3.