Area Wrestling: Raiders wrestle to 2nd

PARKERS PRAIRIE--Class 1A's 12th-ranked Bertha-Hewitt/ /Parkers Prairie Raiders came away with a second-place team finish in the 11-team Parkers Prairie Tournament Saturday, Jan 12.

PARKERS PRAIRIE-Class 1A's 12th-ranked Bertha-Hewitt/ /Parkers Prairie Raiders came away with a second-place team finish in the 11-team Parkers Prairie Tournament Saturday, Jan 12.

Quinn Kern, Zavier Grefe and Craig Orlando each notched first-place finishes, while Hunter Dean finished in second place.

Adam Christopher and Taylor Eigenheer each won their weight class for fourth-place Crosby-Ironton.

Owen Bjerga won the 160-pound weight class for the fifth-place Staples-Motley Cardinals.

Team Scores: 1-LPGE-Browerville 276, 2-Bertha Hewitt/Verndale/Parkers Prairie 217, 3-Benson 137, 4-Crosby-Ironton 116.5, 5-Staples-Motley 95.5, 6-Park Rapids Area 95, 7-Deer River 83, 8-Breckenridge 82, 9-Pelican Rapids 73.5, 10 Wahpeton 48, 11-Ortonville 36.


Next: Crosby-Ironton at Walker-Hackensack-Akeley Triangular Tuesday, Jan. 22; Staples-Motley hosts Aitkin Saturday, Jan .19; Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale/Parkers Prairie in Red Lake County Central Invite at Oklee Friday, Jan. 18.

Little Falls fifth at Stillwater Duals

STILLWATER-Austin Litke, Gabe Nagel, Grant Litke, Sam Nagel and Luke Venske all finished with 3-0 records as Little Falls finished fifth at the Stillwater Duals Saturday, Jan 12.

The Flyers lost to Coon Rapid 51-23 and defeated Chatfield 48-33 and Eagan 45-34 to improve to 11-9. They will host Brainerd and Becker Thursday, Jan. 17.

Road Crew 3rd, W-DC 9th

GLENWOOD-Connor Tulenchik and Jake Poehler took the top spot in their respective classes as the Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus Road Crew finished second in the 11-team Minnewaska Invite Saturday, Jan 12.

Myca Reynolds, Keenan Dahl, and Evan Koering all placed second and Riley Wilson and Josh Pettit each notched their 50th career wins. Poehler's win was his 75th.

Cody Wheeler of Wadena-Deer Creek also scored a second-place finish and the Wolverines finished ninth.


Team Scores: 1-Minnewaska Area 228.5, 2-Pequot Lakes-Pine River-Backus 185, 3-Eden Prairie 147.5, 4-Alexandria 135, 5-New London-Spicer 115, 6-Border West 112, 7-Quad County 91.5, 8-Edina 53, 9-Wadena-Deer Creek 36.5, 10-Minneapolis Patrick Henry 31, 11-Minneapolis Roosevelt

Individual results

106: 1-Jacory Bates (EP), 5-Simon Snyder (WDC), 6-Riley Wilson (PLPRB)

113: 1-Easton McCrory (MA), 6-Owen Carlson (PLPRB)

120: 1-Ryan Borris (A), 3-Caleb Ruhl (PLPRB)

126: 1-Blake Vagle (NLS), 5-Austin Staricha (PLPRB), 6-Mason Snyder (WDC)

132: 1-Bryce Dagel (EP), 2-Evan Koering (PLPRB)

138: 1-Connor Tulenchik (PLPRB)


145: 1-Jahsa Rankins (EP), 3-Harley Large (PLPRB)

152: 1-Jake Poehler (PLPRB)

160: 1-Ayden Friese (QC), 6-Matthew Foster (PLPRB)

170: 1-Tyson Meyer (MA), 2-Cody Wheeler (WDC), 4-Tim Ryan (PLPRB)

182:1-Isaiah Thompson (EP), 2-Keenan Dahl (PLPRB)

195: 1-Tyler VanLuik (MA)

220: 1-Dylan Jergenson (MA), 4-Josh Pettit (PLPRB),

285: 1-Jakob Swalla (MA), 2-Myca Reynolds (PLPRB)


Overall: PLPRB 9-3, WDC 1-7. Next: PLPRB hosts Brainerd, Hibbing, Bemidji in Road Crew Quad at Pine River Tuesday, Jan. 15; Wadena-Deer Creek at West Central Triangular in Barrett Thursday, Jan. 17.

What To Read Next
Get Local