Auto Racing: 7 feature winners crowned at NCS


BARROWS — The atmosphere was festive and the pit area full of race cars on the third night of racing Saturday, June 13, at North Central Speedway.

A limited number of fans were allowed through the gates and vehicle parking was also allowed along the east and north side of the track to watch seven classes of Wissota and IMCA racing.

2019 Hobby Stock driver Tim Gonska notched his first feature win of the season at NCS and veteran driver Tim Johnson was a winner in the Super Stock feature.

Twenty drivers competed in the Sport Compact feature and at the end it was Nathan Kohl winning with Alyssa Nelson in second and Greg Kohl third.

Chris Seidel has battled in the Hobby Stock class for a number of years and his experience helped him keep the first-place position for the first six laps of the feature. Gonska started in the second position and on lap seven he overtook Seidel for the lead and went on to the win with Devin Larsen in second place and Seidel third.


Robert Holtquist took over the lead from Gerrald Nohner on lap seven of the 15-lap Mod Four feature. Nohner led for the first five laps, but four caution flags came out on lap five to disrupt his momentum. Hotliquist overtake him on the next lap. Nohner ended up with a third-place finish behind Holtquist and Dean Larson.

There was a Siercks driver on the winner’s podium in the Sportmod feature, but instead of track champion David Siercks it was Tim Siercks in the top spot at the end. Tim Siercks started in row three of the 15-lap feature and worked his way to the top spot in lap three, overtaking Shawn Fletcher. Jake Hagemann and Mark Martini each battled Siercks through the feature and Hagemann just missed an opportunity to take the lead on the final lap and finished second behind Siercks, with Martini getting the third spot.

A new class at NCS in 2020 is the IMCA Stock Cars. Nine drivers drove a 20-lap feature with three different leaders during the race. Josh Larsen led the first three laps and Matt Speckman led the majority of the laps at 14, but Dan Mackenthun took the top spot with three laps remaining and got the win with Brad Lange in second and Larsen in third.

For the Super Stocks it was Tim Johnson, Chris Wark and Austin Niemeyer taking the top three spots in the 20-lap feature. The most impressive run of the night came from 2019 track champion Aaron Johnson who led for 19 of the 20 laps in the Modified feature. Shawan Fletcher finished second and Clint Hatlestad third.

IMCA Sport Compacts
Feature: 1-Nathan Kohl, 2-Alyssa Nelson, 3-Greg Kohl
Heat 1: 1-RJ Esquada, 2-Alyssa Nelson, 3-Bayden Ruikka
Heat 2: 1-Joseph Wilber, 2-Kaleb Ruikka, 3-Travis Olafson
Heat 3: 1-Nathan Kohl, 2-Greg Kohl, 3-Harry Ruikka


IMCA Hobby Stocks
Feature: 1-Tim Gonska, 2-Devin Larson, 3-Chris Seidel
Heat 1: 1-Tim Gonska, 2-Jake Borden, 3-Austin Niemeyer
Heat 2: 1-Michael Nelson, 2-Devin Larson, 3-Ben Reierson
Heat 3: 1-Brandon Bombardo, 2-Scott Herron, 3-Mike Patnode

Wissota Mod Four
Feature: 1-Robert Holtquist, 2-Dean Larson, 3-Gerrald Nohner
Heat 1: 1-Robert Holtquist, 2-Tommy Bawden, 3-Dean Larson
Heat 2: 1-Gerrald Nohner, 2-Dustin Holtquist, 3-Keith Roush

IMCA Sportmods
Feature: 1-Tim Siercks, 2-Jake Hagemann, 3-Mark Martini
Heat 1: 1-Chris Siercks, 2-Dru Nelson, 3-Tim Siercks
Heat 2: 1- Max Nelson, 2-David Siercks, 3-Jake Hagemann

IMCA Stock Car
Feature: 1-Dan Mackenthun, 2-Brad Lange, 3-Josh Larsen
Heat 1: 1-Dan Mackenthun, 2-Matt Speckman, 3-Josh Larsen


Wissota Super Stock
Feature: 1-Tim Johnson, 2-Chris Wark, 3-Austin Niemeyer
Heat 1: 1-Tim Johnson, 2-Kevin Schmidt, 3-Dustin Nelson
Heat 2: 1-Austin Niemeyer, 2-Chris Wark, 3-David Dosh
Heat 3: 1-Dylan Nelson, 2-Doug Koski, 3-Josh Schmidt

IMCA Modifieds
Feature: 1-Aaron Johnson, 2-Shawn Fletcher, 3-Clint Hatlestad
Heat 1: 1-Aaron Johnson, 2-Erick Thiesse, 3-Pete Hines
Heat 2: 1-Shawn Fletcher, 2-Clint Hatlestad, 3-Luke Hines
What To Read Next
Get Local