Auto Racing: Besmehn wins second at NCS


BARROWS — Zach Besmehn recorded his second win of the season for the Sport Compact class while Jenna Hagemann built her points lead Saturday, July 25 at North Central Speedway.

Hagemann has tallied six top-five finishes in six feature races in the 2020 racing season and she leads the Sports Compact class by 15 points over fellow female competitor Alyssa Nelson.

Tim Gonska won the Hobby Stock feature, his third win of the season. Dave Johnson finished second, followed by Devin Larson. Although Johnson does not have a feature win in 2020, he is a perfect six-for-six in top-five finishes resulting in a five-point lead over Gonska.

With a new car to start the season Mod Four driver Adam Prieve got off to a slow start, but is getting comfortable in his car as he drove to his second win of the year ahead of points leader Tommy Bawden and Patrick Specht. Bawden's three wins and a perfect six-fo-six record in top-five finishes have given him a lead of 65 points in the class standings. Prieve, the 2019 track champion, has missed two feature events and currently sits in eighth place.

The Sportmods race is tight this year with David Siercks holding a 14-point lead over Jake Hagemann and by 17 over Tim Siercks. At the end of the feature race Saturday, David and Tim Siercks were out of the race and Hagemann raced to his first win of the season.


Aaron Johnson has not missed a beat this year after winning the track championship last year. He drove to his fourth win in six feature events to increase his points lead to 19 over Luke Hines. Jesse Rogotzke took second place and Shawn Fletcher placed third.

The Vintage Full Body Stock and Vintage Modifieds made an appearance with 18 cars making the green flag. Paul Dolphy won the Full Body Stock feature and Dennis Olson won the Vintage Modified feature.

IMCA Sport Compacts
Feature: 1-Zach Besmehn, 2-Jenna Hagemann, 3-Peewee Kuhnau
Heat 1: 1-Allyssa Nelson, 2-Bayden Ruikka, 3-Jadyn Brusven
Heat 2: 1-Nathan Kohl, 2-Brandan Woods, 3-Peewee Kuhnau

IMCA Hobby Stocks
Feature: 1-Tim Gonska, 2-Dave Johnson, 3-Devin Larson
Heat 1: 1-Tim Gonska, 2-Chad Visser, 3-Brandon Bombardo
Heat 2: 1-Dave Johnson, 2-Scott Herron, 3-William Herron


Wissota Mod Four
Feature: 1-Adam Prieve, 2-Tommy Bawden, 3-Patrick Specht
Heat 1: 1-Adam Prieve, 2-Tommy Bawden, 3-Jamie Lenarz
Heat 2: 1-Abby Garin, 2-Patrick Specht, 3-Travis Roush

IMCA Sportmods
Feature: 1-Jake Hagemann, 2-Chris Siercks, 3-Brendon Yamry
Heat 1: 1-Jake Hagemann, 2-Brendon Yamry, 3-Tim Siercks
Heat 2: 1-Tom Anderson, 2-Chris Siercks, 3-Dru Nelson

IMCA Modifieds
Feature: 1-Aaron Johnson, 2-Jesse Rogotzke, 3-Shawn Fletcher
Heat 1: 1-Jesse Rogotzke, 2-Luke Hines, 3-Aaron Johnson
Heat 2: 1-Shawn Fletcher, 2-AJ Viehauser, 3-Erick Thiesse
What To Read Next
Get Local