NEW YORK MILLS — Bjorn Brunsberg beat Lane Hoess by one-tenth of a second for first-place honors as the Wadena-Deer Creek boys team won the New York Mills Invite Tuesday, Sept. 14.

Phillip Ross took home third-place honors with a time of 20:25 while Grant Nelson, Eric Malone and Trevin Kern placed eighth, ninth and 10th respectively.

Johanna Brunsberg was the top finisher for the Wolverine girls as she took home second-place honors with a time of 21:35 to help the WDC girls to a first.

Amber Collins placed third and Lydia Oldakowski finished one second behind her to take fourth with a time of 22:22.

Newsletter signup for email alerts
Boys results
Team scores: 1- Wadena-Deer Creek 21, 2-New York Mills 36
Individual winner: Bjorn Brunsberg (WDC) 18:18
Wadena-Deer Creek results: 1-Bjorn Brunsberg 18:18, 2-Lane Hoess 18:18, 3-Phillip Ross 20:25, 8-Grant Nelson 22:25, 9-Eric Malone 22:50 10-Trevin Kern 23:05

Girls results
Team scores: 1-Wadena-Deer Creek 24, 2-United North Central 39, 3-New York Mills 66
Individual winner: Anjalie Aho (United North Central) 20:35
Wadena-Deer Creek results: 2-Johanna Brunsberg 21:35, 3-Amber Collins 22:21, 4-Lydia Oldakowski 22:22, 6-Britta Sweeney 23:04, 9-Emma Ries 24:16, 13-Leah Osberg 25:20, Megan Hamelau 25:51
Next: Wadena-Deer Creek at Ada Borup Invite 4 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 16.

Pierz girls 3rd

MORA — Chloe Lochner finished seventh with a time of 21:35.7 to help the Pierz girls to a third-place finish out of 18 teams at the Mora Invitational Tuesday, Sept. 14.

Carissa Andres placed 23rd with a time of 22:56.2 followed by Eden Andres who finished 26th in 23:14.3.

Ethan Kowalczyk was the top runner for the Pierz boys team as he finished 12th with a time of 18:17.0. The Pioneers placed eighth out of 18 teams. Nathan Tax ran a 34th-place time of 19:46.8.

Boys results
Team scores: 1-Northwest 27, 2-Heritage Christian 35, 3-Mora 120, 4-Foley 125, 5-Providence Academy-169 … 8-Pierz 194
Individual winner: Luke Swanson (Northwest) 16:59.6
Pierz results: 12-Ethan Kowalczyk 18:17.0, 34-Nathan Tax 19:46.8, 40-Guy Clemons-Virnig 19:57.4, 42-Wyatt Betsinger 20:07.0, 66-Kaleb Poster 22:15.8

Girls results
Team scores: 1-Hibbing 54, 2-Providence Academy 91, 3-Pierz 128, 4-Hinckley-Finlayson 129, 5-Heritage Christian 145
Individual winner: Emma Kelly (Providence Academy) 20:10.7
Pierz results: 7-Chole Lochner 21:35.7, 23-Carissa Andres 22:56.2, 26-Eden Andres-23:14.3, 36-Morgan Litke 23:56.9, 37-Emma Kowalczyck 23:58.7
Next: Pierz hosts Stampede Invite 4:15 p.m. Monday, Sept. 20.