Dance Team: Geraets, Hiltner named Warriors MVPs

The Brainerd Warriors dance team held their end-of-season awards banquet

India Hiltner

Quinn Geraets and India Hiltner were named Most Valuable Players for the Brainerd Warriors dance team at the season-ending awards banquet.

The two came away with a large haul of awards. Hiltner was awarded best leaps, personal placement and quality of movement winner. She earned all-state in jazz and All-Central Lakes Conference in both kick and jazz.

Geraets was awarded best turns and landed on the all-state jazz team and all-conference for both kick and jazz.

Aubri Metz was also a big winner as she was awarded the Heather Star Habeck Scholarship. She was awarded most optimistic and spirited, most dependable and hardest worker award.

Madison Avery earned best kicks and was all-conference in jazz and all-conference honorable mention in kick.


Sierra Chisholm was awarded best toe touches. Macin Freed captured the most helpful award as well as quickest learner and most organized. Another quick learner was Semme Hiltner, who also earned all-state honors in kick and all-conference honors in kick.

Jada Bentson was awarded best facials even while wearing a mask. Bentson landed on the all-conference team for both kick and jazz.

Michaela Steichen and Greta Schloemer also earned most optimistic and spirited awards. Schloemer was named all-conference honorable mention in both jazz and kick.

Steichen also earned the most dependable award.

Madison Raskin earned the thick skin award.

Bailey Clausen joined Geraets and Hiltner as the personal placement award winner.

Avrie George, Torri Furh and Thea Shogren were named most improved. Shogren scored a spot on the all-state kick team and all-conference kick team.

Varsity letterwinners and state dancers were Avery, Izabella Barber, Bentson, Chisholm, Clausen, Freed, Tori Fuhr, Avrie George, Geraets, India and Semme Hiltner, Bailey Koop, Emma Kvalevog, Jaidyn Lundstrom, Metz, Saydie Olson, Cassidy Rardin, Raskin, Schloemer, Schommer, Shogren, Steichen, Sofia Sundquist-Rogers, Abigail Thorn and manager Ana Wickham.


Junior varsity kick award winners were Jaidyn Lundstrom (best kicks), Payton Miller (best toe touches, stick it award), Alexis Strus (most spirited, most optimistic), Racine Schommer (most helpful), Sundquist-Rogers (quickest learner), Chloe Marohn (most dependable), Kylie Skaaland (most organized), Sydney Hamre (hardest worker, most improved and MVP), Zoe Cervantez (thick skin), Madison Lee (thick skin), Morgan Carey (most improved rookie), Caitlyn Clark (most improved rookie), Ivy Debeitz (most improved rookie).

Junior varsity jazz individual awards went to Avrie George (best leaps), Saydie Olson (best turns), Emma Kvalevog (most spirited, quickest learner, hardest worker), Freed (most helpful), Koop (force of move), Cassidy Rardin (best movement quality, hardest worker) Raskin (most improved), Chisholm (MVP).

Fuhr, Metz and Steichen earned Academic All-State by maintaining a 3.85 grade-point average as a senior.

Fuhr, Metz, Steichen and Koop earned Academic All-Central Lakes Conference by being seniors and maintaining a 3.4 grade-point average.

Brainerd, which won both the Section 4-3A kick and jazz titles, also earned the Minnesota Association of Dance Teams Academic Achievement award.

Varsity academic achievement award recipients were Barber, Clausen, Freed, Fuhr, George, Geraets, India and Semme Hiltner, Koop, Kvalevog, Lundstrom, Metz, Olson, Rardin, Schloemer, Schommer, Shogren, Steichen, Thorn and Wickham.

Covering the Brainerd lakes area sports scene for the past 23 years.
What To Read Next
Get Local