Football: Brainerd football banquet awards

Warriors hand out awards at banquet

Copy of Copy of BHSWarriorsLogo.jpg
Brainerd Warriors

Nathaniel Staehling earned team MVP, Offensive Player of the Year, Academic All-State honors and All-District North Central Red honors at the Brainerd football banquet Sunday, Nov. 21.

Grant Gardiepy, Dylan Gross, Jed Klang, Riley DeRosier, Cam Langerman and Carter Springer all also earn All-District honors with Jacob Holm, Ethan DeRosier, Matthew Huesmann, Dalton Barrett, Jack Schafer, Mitchell Degen and Eli Hoelz being named All-District Honorable Mention.

Ryan Westerberg was named Special Teams Player of the Year. Riley DeRosier was named Defensive Player of the Year and Defensive Lineman Player of the Year. Springer earned Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Gardiepy was named Pride Player of the Year and Brady Toensing earned the Sean Andrews Award.

The Scout Team Awards went to Jake Merseth for offense and Noah Hines and DJ Tumpkin for defense.


The JV Awards were Braedon Manecke with special teams player of the year, Sean Holbrook with offensive player of the year, John Hagen with defensive player of the year, Peter Yeager with lineman of the year and Elijah Hanson with the Pride Award.

Damen Bentho, Conner Erickson and Eli Wiskow were named captains for the 2022 season, along with another captain to be named later.

Nathaniel Staehling

What To Read Next
3 area girls basketball teams were in action
Two area boys hockey teams hit the ice Thursday, Jan. 26.
five area wresting teams hit the mat Thursday, Jan. 26.
Brainerd hosts Alexandria Jan. 26