Nordic skiing: Cady and Schaeffer named Warrior MVPs

The Brainerd Warriors Nordic ski team held its postseason awards banquet.

Lily Schaeffer

Senior Ryan Cady and junior Lily Schaeffer were named the Brainerd Warriors Most Valuable Players at the postseason awards banquet.

Cady was the top Warrior boys finisher at the state meet with his 35th-place time of 23:13.3. Schaeffer paced the Warrior girls at state with her 61st-place time of 28:13.9.

Rookie of the Year honors went to Lance Hastings and Bridget Collins. Cady and senior Mari Devine were awarded the Warrior Award. Adam Cady and Cally Robertson were named Most Improved.

Emma Storbakken was the Losos Award winner and Treyton Miller landed the Heart of the Warrior Award.

Earning All-Central Lakes Conference honors were Ryan Cady, Nole Robertson, Mitchell Neumann, Eli Knapp, Jacob Olson, Devine, Storbakken, Schaeffer, Cally Robertson and Collins.


All-conference honorable mention went to Noah Schaeffer, Adam Cady, Braden Capelle, Atticus Osborne, Addie Ryan and Emma Balsley.

Earning Scholar all-conference and All-State Academic Awards were Ryan Cady, Nole Robertson, Storbakken and Divine.

Both the boys and the girls teams were awarded the Gold Award for the State Academic Awards by having a combined grade-point average of 3.75 or higher.

Team captains for next season were announced. Leading the boys' team will be Mitchell Neuman and Braden Capelle. Lily Schaeffer and Allison Rice will captain the girls’ team.

Ryan Cad6y

Covering the Brainerd lakes area sports scene for the past 23 years.
What To Read Next
Get Local