Sponsored By
An organization or individual has paid for the creation of this work but did not approve or review it.



DNR’s newest conservation officers set to hit the field

The 13 conservation officers will occupy previously vacant stations across the state.

News is highlighted as word on keyboard
Contributed / Metro Newspaper Service

CAMP RIPLEY — Within the next several weeks, 12 communities across the state will once again have full-time, dedicated service from a Minnesota Department of Natural Resources conservation officer.

In addition, a new conservation officer will join the Enforcement Division’s Aviation Unit as a pilot.

The 13 conservation officers who will occupy these previously vacant stations have spent the past year training in all aspects of public safety and natural resources protection.

20200818_100314 (003).jpg
The graduates of this year’s Conservation Officer Academy, who will be assuming their stations this month, are (front, left to right): Meng Moua, Victoria Griffith, Chelsey Bechel, Cassie Block, Tou Vang and Ryan Brown. In the back row (left to right) are Curtis Simonson, Zach Larson, Michael Cross, Charles Scott, Stephen Westby, Vincent Brown and Corey Sura.


“Conservation officers are integral parts of Minnesota’s public safety fabric and work every day to ensure future generations have the opportunity to enjoy the resources we do today,” said Rodmen Smith, director of the DNR Enforcement Division. “I’m confident our new officers will carry on the department’s proud tradition of serving our communities and protecting our state’s natural resources.”

The new conservation officers were selected from among hundreds of applicants and spent May to August at the Conservation Officer Academy at Camp Ripley. After initial training, where they learned all aspects of the job in classroom and scenario-based situations, they worked for 16 weeks in the field with experienced officers throughout the state.

There are 155 conservation officer field stations across the state, each covering about 650 square miles. Once these new conservation officers are in their respective stations, 10 field stations in the state will be without full-time, dedicated coverage.

Following is a list of the new officers and their stations:

Ryan Brown, Karlstad; Corey Sura, Baudette No. 2; Michael Cross, Lake George; Chelsey Bechel, Walker; Tou Vang, Pierz; Curtis Simonson, International Falls No. 2, Vincent Brown, Northome; Victoria Griffith, Isle; Stephen Westby, Madison; Zachary Larson, Hutchinson No. 2; Cassie Block, Willmar No. 2; Meng Moua, Spring Valley; Charles Scott, Aviation Unit pilot.

What To Read Next
Members Only
Get Local


Must Reads