ALEXANDRIA-Little Falls' Jackson Grant won the boys race finishing ahead of second-place Evan Storbakken of Brainerd at the Alexandria Invite at Andres Tower Hills Tuesday, Jan. 15.

The Warrior boys were second as a team behind Moorhead and Little Falls finished third with Colton Yorek placing third individually.

Finishing behind Storbakken for Brainerd were Maxim Osborne (11th), Nole Robertson (13th) and Ben Renner (20th).

On the girl's side, the Flyers' Katie Corbett finished second behind Wren Scott Lumbar from St. Cloud Tech to lead Little Falls to second.

Grace Erholtz' 11th-place finish led the Warriors to fourth. Erholtz was followed by Sarah Nesheim (15th), Emma Storbakken (17th) and Abby Wohl-Kovatovich (22nd).

Brainerd co-head coach Mary Claire Ryan said that the race ran longer than anticipated with the final event, the girl's varsity race, conducted in the dark with headlamps on the skiers' heads.

"It's unusual for us to be racing in the dark with headlights," she said. "It was also an all classic race, which we needed and a bit more distance than normal.

"We were not a full team today because some skiers stayed behind with finals coming up this week."

Brainerd was scheduled to compete in the Bemidji Invite Saturday, Jan. 19. That has been canceled because of expected frigid temperatures.

Boys results

Team scores: 1-Moorhead 378, 2-Brainerd 363, 3-Little Falls 359, 4-St. Cloud Tech 348, 5-Detroit Lakes 327, 6-Fergus Falls 323, 7-Alexandria 317, 8-Willmar 237, 9-St. Cloud Apollo 227

Individual winner: Jackson Grant (LF) 22:42

Brainerd results: 2-Evan Storbakken 22:56, 11-Maxim Osborne 25:04, 13-Nole Robertson 25:34, 20-Ben Renner 26:39, 21-Nicholas Schneider 26:40, 23-Nicholas Porisch 27:18, 24-David Dewey 27:22, 28-Atticus Osborne 28:09, 32-Nick Renner 28:18, 37-Noah Schaeffer 29:16, 47-Braden Capelle 30:24

Little Falls results: 1-Jackson Grant 22:42, 3-Colton Yorek 23:08, 18-Colton Gottwalt 26:14. 27-Connor Grant 28:07, 43-Ben Peterson 29:58, 46-Ethan Yorek 30:23

Girls results

Team scores: 1-Moorhead 372, 2-Little Falls 366, 3-Alexandria 359, 4-Brainerd 339, 5-St. Cloud Tech 348, 6-St. Cloud Apollo 256, 7-Detroit Lakes 230, 8-Willmar 229, 9-Fergus Falls 157

Individual winner: Wren Scott Lumbar (SCT) 26:30

Brainerd results: 11-Grace Erholtz 28:57, 15-Sarah Nesheim 29:13, 17-Emma Storbakken 29:30, 22-Abby Wohl-Kovatovich 30:15, 26-Callie Knapp 31:20, 28-Mari Devine 32:13, 42-Allyson Goeden 35:50

Little Falls results: 2-Katie Corbett 26:31, 9-Molly Lange 28:47, 13-Beth Ahlin 29:10, 14-Kaylee Zupko 29:11, 25-Camilla Johnson 31:19, 34-Breanna Barchus 34:07

Next: Brainerd in Little Falls Invite Invite at Camp Ripley 10 a.m. Thursday, Jan. 24.