Area Cross-Country: W-DC girls win, Pequot boys 2nd

Pequot Lakes, W-DC compete in Melrose Tuesday, Sept. 20.

BD-Running Graph.jpg
We are part of The Trust Project.

MELROSE — Eli Hall ran a second-place time of 16:24.79 to lead the Pequot Lakes boys to second place at the Melrose Invitational Tuesday, Sept. 20.

Liam Zins captured a top-10 finish for the Patriots as he ran 18:23.25.

Wadena-Deer Creek was paced by Lane Hoefs who finished eighth as the Wolverine boys placed ninth.

Britta Sweeney led the W-DC girls to a first-place finish after running to an eighth place 21:46.3.

Amber Collins placed 10th for the Wolverines while Lydia Oldakowski finished 12th.


Rian Zutter paced the Patriots girls to seventh as she ran a seventh-place 21:31.11.

Boys results

Team scores: 1-Sauk Centre 55, 2-Pequot Lakes 85, 3-New London Spicer 94, 4-West Central Area 125, 5-Litchfield 137, 6-Minnewaska 173, 7-Breckenridge/Wahpeton 183, 8-Melrose 195, 9-Wadena-Deer Creek 213, 10-Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta 224, 11-Paynesville 274, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 292, 13-Brandon-Evansville 302

Individual winner: Brandon Kampsen (Sauk Centre) 16:14.68

Pequot Lakes results: 2-Eli Hall 16-24.79, 10-Liam Zins 18:23.25, 28-Charlie Schiessl 19:32.58, 39-James Johnson 20:10.6, 80-Elijah Toftness 22:42.11, 81-Caleb Toftness 22:49.66

Wadena-Deer Creek results: 8-Lane Hoefs 18:06.35, 27-Phillip Ross 19:32.3, 33-Grant Nelson 19:40.13, 72-Cooper Damlo 21:45.83, 73-Isaac Heppner 21:48.67, 74-Blake Haverkamp 21:54.27, 83-Trevin Kern 22:57.98

Girls results

Team scores: 1-Wadena-Deer Creek 61, 2-Minnewaska 73, 3-New London-Spicer 92, 4-Litchfield 143, 5-Melrose 176, 6-Breckenridge/Wahpeton 180, 7-Pequot Lakes 187, 8-Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 200, 9-Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta 216, 10-West Central 218, 11-Sauk Centre 263, 12-Paynesville 269, 13-Brandon-Evansville 329

Individual winner: Caroline Kuehne (LPGE) 20:03.94

Pequot Lakes results: 7-Rian Zutter 21:31.21, 22-Erika English 23:08.08, 25-Allison Gladen 23:15.79, 65-Emily Held 26:05.96, 78-Emma Bitzer 27:54.23

Wadena-Deer Creek results: 8-Britta Sweeney 21:46.3, 10-Amber Collins 22:01.37, 12-Lydia Oldakowski 22:28.68, 15-Karly Haverkamp 22:33.48, 24-Brielle Kern 23:10.47, 41-Ally Pavek 24:04.69, 47-Noelle Spicer 24:27.07

Next: Pequot Lakes at Foley 4 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 29; Wadena-Deer Creek at Grand Fork noon Saturday, Sept. 24.

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "staff." Often, the "staff" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.

Hi, I'm the Brainerd Dispatch. I started working a few days before Christmas in 1881 and became a daily paper two years later. I've gone through a lot of changes over the years, but what has never changed is my commitment to community and to local journalism. I've got an entire team of dedicated people who work night and day to make sure I go out every morning, whether in print, as an e-edition, via an app or with additional information at News, weather, sports — videos, photos, podcasts and social media — all covering stories from central Minnesota about your neighbors, your lakes, your communities, your challenges and your opportunities. It's all part of the effort to keep people connected and informed. And we couldn't do it without support.
What to read next
The Brainerd Dispatch All-Area Second Team is announced
The Brainerd Dispatch All-Area First Team annouced
Pequot Lakes senior quarterback named The Brainerd Dispatch Player of the Year
Brainerd Warriors open season Tuesday, Nov. 29 at Buffalo.