Section 6-1A Wrestling: 5 Raiders, 1 Cardinal and 1 Wolverine headed to state

BD-wrestling graph.JPG

WADENA — Two-time defending state heavyweight champion Craig Orlando and four other Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale/Parkers Prairie Raiders punched their tickets to the state tournament following the Section 6-1A Individual Tournament Saturday, Feb. 22.

Staples-Motley’s senior Owen Bjerga will be returning to state and Simon Snyder will be representing Wadena-Deer Creek.

The top two wrestlers in each weight class advance to the Class 1A State Individual Tournament 9 a.m. Friday, Feb. 28, at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.

Orlando, undefeated and top-seeded, pinned his first two opponents and then squeaked out a 1-0 decision over Ottertail Central’s second-seeded Cian Buehler for the title. Orlando is 46-0 this year and 93-1 over the past two seasons.

Also advancing for BHVPP are David Revering and Deagen Captain, champions at 106 and 113 respectively, and Jason Koehn and Mason Schroeder, second at 138 and 160.


Berga, a senior, pinned all three of his opponents on his way to the 160-pound championship, capping off the day with a fall in 1:09 for the title. Bjerga takes a 44-1 record into the state tournament. He placed second at 160 last year and was sixth at 138 pounds in 2018.

W-DC’s Snyder went 3-1. He lost a 7-5 decision in the 120-pound title match to OTC’s Laredo Bugbee and then pinned Border West’s Patrick Forcier in the true-second match.

106: 1-David Revering (BHVPP) 3-0, 6-River McQusiton (WDC) 2-3, 8-Aidan Winter (SM) 1-2
113: 1-Deagen Captain (BHVPP) 3-0, Jason Trantina (SM) 0-2
120: 1-Laredo Bugbee (OTC) 3-0, 2-Simon Snyder (WDC) 3-1, 4-Aiden Larson (BHVPP) 2-2, Rafael Caudillo (SM) 0-2
126: 1-Dane Niemi (NYM) 3-0, 3-Mason Snyder WDC 2-2, 4-Reese Thompson (BHVPP) 2-2, 8-Dalton Wells (SM) 1-2
132: 1-Hayden Hart (OTC) 2-0, 6-Justin Koehn (BHVPP) 0-3, Brandon Wheeler (WDC) 0-2
138: 1-Anthony Sykora (WC) 3-0, 2-Jason Koehn (BHVPP) 2-1, 5-Will Danilyuk (SM) 2-2, 8-Koby Endres (WDC) 0-2
145: 1-Aidan Ruddy (Breck) 3-0, 4-Logen Weite (SM) 2-2, 8-Connor Dirks (WDC) 2-2, Matt Mensinger (BHVPP) 0-2
152: 1-Jordan Lohse (WC) 2-0, 5-Brock Peterson (BHVPP) 1-2, Sam Jennissen (SM) 0-2
160: 1-Owen Bjerga (SM) 3-0, 2-Mason Schroeder (BHVPP) 2-1, Brayden Kleinke (WDC) 0-2
170: 1-Kolbe Booker (All Saints) 3-0, 4-Hunter Dean (BHVPP) 2-2, Alex Giza (SM) 0-2
182: 1-Gideon Ervasti (BHVPP) 3-0, 3-Cody Wheeler (WDC) 3-1
195: 1-Zane Swanson (OTC) 2-0, 5-Tyer Eggert (BHVPP) 1-2, 6-Emmitt Winkels (SM) 0-3
220: 1-Daniel Erlandson (Breck) 3-0, 3-Jaden Finck (BHVPP) 2-2, Logan Wegscheid (WDC) 0-2
285: 1-Craig Orlando (BHVPP) 3-0, 4-Cole Winkels (SM) 2-2
Next: Staples-Motley, Wadena-Deer Creek, Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale/Parkers Prairie in Class 1A State Individual Tournament at Xcel Energy Center, St. Paul 9 a.m. Friday, Feb. 28.
What To Read Next
Get Local