Section 7-1A Wrestling: 3 Rangers, 2 Gobblers head to state

BD-Wrestling Graph.jpg

RUSH CITY — Michael and John Paul Fitzpatrick along with Kyle Blazek from Crosby-Ironton and Aitkin’s Marshall Larson and Jack Grell qualified for the state tournament following the Section 7-1A individual tournament Saturday, Feb. 22.

The top two wrestlers from each weight class advance to the Class 1A State Individual Tournament 9 a.m. Friday, Feb. 28, at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.

Michael Fitzpatrick, a junior, improved to 34-14 when he pinned top-seeded Eric Thompson from Mille Lacs in the 170-pound championship match.

John Paul Fitzpatrick, a freshman, improved to 39-13 after he lost a 19-5 major decision to Blackduck’s top-seeded and unbeaten Trevor Janssen in the 126-pound title match. Fitzpatrick then topped Aitkin’s Nathan Rom in the true-second match.

C-I heavyweight Kyle Blazek, a senior, was pinned in the championship match by Royalton’s top-seeded Mason Novitzki. He improved to 36-8 when he pinned Blackduck’s Bill Roberts in the true-second match.


Aitkin’s top-seeded sophomore Marshall Larson went 3-0 for the day and improved to 48-5 when he recorded a 9-5 decision over Deer River’s Zachary Ikola for the 106-pound championship.

Grell, a ninth-grader, lost his semifinal match, but came back through the consolation rounds to win an 11-8 decision over Ogilvie’s Ethan Warren in the true-second match. He advances to state with a 24-18 record.

106: 1-Marshall Larson (Ait) 3-0, 8-Dillan Barna (C-I) 1-2
113: 1-Eli Sharbono (Blackduck) 3-0, 3-Nathan Trotter (Ait) 3-2
120: 1-Trevor Michienzi (Deer River) 3-0, 4-Carson Kullhem (Ait) 2-2, 6-Gabe Ridlon (C-I) 1-3
126: 1-Trevor Janssen (Blackduck) 3-0, 2-John Paul Fitzpatrick (C-I) 3-1, 3-Nathan Rom (Ait) 3-2
132: 1-Christian Pater (Blackduck) 3-0, 3-Walker Jones (Ait) 2-2
138: 1-Jacob Leibold (Royalton) 3-0, 2-Jack Grell (Ait) 4-1
145: 1-Trey Fairbanks (Deer River) 3-0
152: 1-Trenton Juelson (Blackduck) 3-0, 3-Jake Klancher (C-I) 3-2, 6-Tyler Decent (Ait) 1-3
160: 1-Daniel Mielke (Rush City) 3-0, 6-Evan Lueck (C-I) 1-3, 8-Dan Decent (Ait) 0-2
170: 1-Michael Fitzpatrick (C-I) 3-0, 5-Hunter Hills (Ait) 2-2
182: 1-Mason Smid (Blackduck) 3-0, 5-Sam Smith (C-I) 2-2
195: 1-Matthew Kasella (Royalton) 3-0, 4-Hayden McGowan (C-I) 1-2
220: 1-Sam Harren (Holdingford) 3-0, 5-Nathan Stifter (Ait) 1-2
285: 1-Mason Novitzki (Royalton) 3-0, 2-Kyle Blazek (C-I) 3-1, 8-Sam Ostrode (Ait) 0-2
Next: Aitkin, Crosby-Ironton in Class 1A State Individual Tournament at Xcel Energy Center, St. Paul, 9 a.m. Friday, Feb. 28.
What To Read Next
Get Local


Must Reads