Stock Car: NCS key player in national points race

BARROWS -- Five classes race at North Central Speedway each week and three of the five classes have three drivers in the top five in the national points chase.

BARROWS - Five classes race at North Central Speedway each week and three of the five classes have three drivers in the top five in the national points chase.

A great example was in the Modified feature event as just seven cars competed in the feature Saturday. Included in that field were; Shane Sabraski, who is in second place nationally, Don Eischens, who is third, and Eric Martini, who sits in fourth.

After 20 laps, Don Eischens raced to the checkered flag and was followed by Martini and Sabraski.

Tim Johnson, Sabraski, and Seth Kramer combined to put on a show in the 20-lap Super Stock feature. Kramer led the race early, but couldn't hold off Johnson. Johnson and Sabraski then ran neck and neck for the last half of the feature with Johnson getting the top spot at the finish line.

Johnson sits in first place nationally and has a nine-point lead over Sabraski. Dexton Koch is also in the top five.


Sabraski is also in second place in the Midwest Modified class. Rookie driver Brandon Mehrwerth, gave Sabraski all he could handle in the feature Saturday. Mehrwerth led in the early part of the race and held off Sabraski in the corners early. Sabraski's patients paid off as he stole the lead from Mehrwerth late and finished in front of Danny Vang and Mehrwerth at the checkered flag.

Tim Johnson showed why he leads the nation in the Street Stock class as he ran away from the field Saturday. Veteran driver David Dosh made a trip to the podium with a first place finish in the Pure Stock feature.

Chad Funt captured the checkered flag in the 15 lap Mod 4 feature running past Dustin Zieske and Jerry Esler. Zieske is currently fourth in national points and Dean Larson, who finished outside of the top three, is in second place nationally.

Josh Zimpel made his first appearance of the season in the Hornet class and made his impact felt immediately with a win in the heat race. In the 12-lap feature he challenged Drue Fletcher and was able to gain the lead in turn four on the final lap. However, it was determined that he had been too aggressive with contact on Fletcher's car in getting the lead and he was penalized one spot. The final finishing order was Fletcher, Zimpel and Lexi Gallagher.


Feature: 1-Drue Fletcher, 2-Josh Zimpel, 3-Lexi Gallagher

Heat 1: 1-Josh Zimpel, 2-Rod Berg, 3-Drue Fletcher



Feature: 1-David Dosh, 2-Roman Siltman, 3-Craig Paul

Heat 1: 1-Tami Naslund, 2-Aaron Fenstermaker, 3-Brandon Fah

Heat 2: 1-Dylan Nelson, 2-David Dosh, 3-Craig Paul


Feature: 1-Tim Johnson, 2-Shawn Wageman, 3-Mark Johnson

Heat 1: 1-Tim Johnson, 2-Kyle Dykhoff, 3-Mark Johnson

Heat 2: 1-Davey Kruchten, 2-Gary Sack, 3-Aaron Johnson



Feature: 1-Shane Sabraski, 2-Danny Vang, 3-Brandon Mehrwerth

Heat 1: 1-Dennis Czech, 2-Shane Sabraski, 3-Tom Gill

Heat 2: 1-Danny Vang, 2-Tony Schill, 3-Billy Kendall

Heat 3: 1-Jeremy Kerzman, 2-Dan Pederson, 3-Brandon Mehrwerth


Feature: 1-Tim Johnson, 2-Shane Sabraski, 3-Seth Kramer

Heat 1: 1-Tim Johnson, 2-Shane Sabraski, 3-Jake Goetze



Feature: 1-Chad Funt, 2-Dustin Zieske, 3-Jerry Esler

Heat 1: 1-Dean Larson, 2-Ryan Buer, 3-Jess Geesey

Heat 2: 1-Dustin Zieske, 2-Tyler Larson, 3-Chad Funt


Feature: 1-Don Eischens, 2-Eric Martini, 3-Shane Sabraski

Heat 1: 1-Shane Sabraski, 2-Don Eischens, 3-Eric Martini

What To Read Next
Get Local