ALEXANDRIA-Brainerd's Patrick Moraghan dispatched the No. 1 seeded Spencer Konecne of Bemidji 7-5, 6-1 in the championship match of the singles bracket in the North Subsection 8-2A Individual Tournament Tuesday, May 21.

Moraghan will advance to the Section 8-2A tournament along with the Warrior doubles team of Garrett Goeden-Ian Aadland. The duo bettered the Alexandria team of Eli Simonson-jacob Partington 4-6, 6-2, 6-2 to win the subsection title.


Opening round: Keenan Hodge (Brainerd) def. AJ Stang (Apollo/SR) 6-0,6-0; Patrick Moraghan (Brainerd) bye

Quarterfinals: Moraghan def. Louis Saxton (Bemidji) 6-2, 6-3; Spencer Konecne (Bemidji) def. Hodge (Brainerd) 6-2, 6-4

Semifinal: Moraghan (Brainerd) def. Brycen Lunak (Moorhead) 6-4, 6-0

Championship: Moraghan (Brainerd) def. Spencer Konecne (Bemidji) 7-5, 6-1


Opening round: Garrett Goeden-Ian Aadland (Brainerd) bye ; Evan Storbakken-Layton Rivard (Brainerd) bye

Quarterfinals: Goeden-Aadland (Brainerd) def. Zach Wosepka-Hunter Cronquist (Alexandria) 6-1, 6-0; Wyatt Harrom-Silas Hess (Bemidji) def. Storbakken-Rivard (Brainerd) 6-3, 6-2

Semifinals: Goeden-Aadland (Brainerd) def. Harrom-Hess (Bemidji) 6-2, 6-3

Championship: Goeden-Aadland (Brainerd) def. Eli Simonson-Jacob Partington (Alexandria) 4-6, 6-2, 6-2

Next: Brainerd in Section 8-2A Individual Tournament at St. Cloud Apollo 10 a.m. Friday, May 24.