ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

Women's College Basketball: New coach hopes to guide CLC back to region tournament

Central Lakes College women's basketball coach Brian Voigt enters his first season as head coach with two things working in his favor. The first is that as assistant coach for men's basketball coach last season he had the opportunity to see the w...

4330536+1kaXiYHtOhWJJ-iACPdYbWhA9E_YXa8nh.jpg
Brian Voigt

Central Lakes College women's basketball coach Brian Voigt enters his first season as head coach with two things working in his favor.

The first is that as assistant coach for men's basketball coach last season he had the opportunity to see the women's team pay on a nightly basis.

The second is that he is coaching a team that is driven, and wants more success after a trip to the Region 13B tournament last season.

"Last year the team had a good season and played really well that last couple of games to get into the regional tournament," Voigt said. "In the tournament game against Northland, they were missing some key pieces that helped with the season they had and only lost by five.

"I think going back to regionals is a goal and an expectation for the team. They have prepared well so far and keep pushing themselves to get better."

ADVERTISEMENT

The Raiders will have their first opportunity to play when they host the Bethel University JV at 5:30 p.m. Monday, Nov 12.

Last year the Raiders finished 14-11 overall, 6-6 in Northern Division play. According to the MCAC basketball preview, Northland, which has several key players returning, is the pre-season favorite to repeat as division champions.

The Raiders also have several players, including Naomi Lane, Sam Schimpp, and Liz Anderson, who played against Northland in the region last season. They will get an opportunity to avenge that loss at Northland Jan 9 and at home Jan 30.

"Our lineup is going to change so much this year," Voight said. "We have depth and it will be in our game plan each week of how we attack each opponent. For the first game, we are going to go with Lane, Schimpp, Anderson, Kelsie Weite, and Kali Mammenga.

"There is a lot of improvement from practice to practice. The shooting ability that we have is going to be fun. Our guards, Weite, Schimpp, Mammenga, Anderson, Kezia Rahier and Tiffany Johnson can all shoot the ball from the outside. Our forwards Lindsay Hendrickson, Lane and Katelyn Waytashek can go inside and outside.

"We do have two players (Maggi Fellerman, Paige Wallevand) that are competing for the national championship with (CLC) volleyball right now that have not been with us in the practice setting, but both are players that will add to what we are doing with being versatile."

Northland, Hibbing and Rainy River, the three teams that finished in front of the Raiders in the division last year, all featured an accurate 3-point shooting game and the ability to have dominant post play to close out a game. If the Raiders are to rise in the standings, perimeter shooting and post play will be key elements.

"The style of play for this year's group is one that we can go inside and out," Voigt said. "We can shoot the ball very well. We have been able to adjust to the game flow so far. We are set to utilize our athleticism to get up and down the court and play tough defense to force mistakes from the opponents. It also helps that I can see a different leading scorer from game to game as well."

ADVERTISEMENT

Raiders roster

Number, player, year, high school

1-Katelyn Waytashek, So, Pierz

2-Kezia Rahier, So, Kelliher-Northome

3-Kelsie Weite, So, Staples-Motley

11-Liz Anderson, So, Lake Region Christian

15-Maggie Fellerman, Fr, Aitkin

21-Sam Schimpp, So, Staples-Motley HS

ADVERTISEMENT

23-Tiffany Johnson, Fr, Pine River-Backus

25-Lindsay Hendrickson, So, Menahga

30-Paige Wallevand, Fr, Henning

34-Naomi Lane, So, Aitkin

45-Kali Mammenga, Fr, Little Falls

Schedule

Mon Nov 12, Bethel University JV 5:30 p.m.

Fri Nov 16, at MN State Fergus Falls 5:30 p.m.

Wed Nov 21, at St. Cloud Technical College 5:45 p.m.

Fri, Nov 30, Gogebic Community College 5:30 p.m.

Sat Dec 1, at Anoka-Ramsey 1 p.m.

Fri Dec 7, Minnesota West 5:30 p.m.

Sat. Dec 8, Ridgewater 1 p.m.

Fri Dec 14, at Lake Superior College 5:30 p.m.

Fri. Dec 21, MN State Fergus Falls 6 p.m.

Sat Dec 22, St. Cloud Technical College 4 p.m.

Fri Jan 4, Minnesota West 6 p.m.

Sat Jan 5, Ridgewater 4 p.m.

Wed Jan 9, at Northland 5:30 p.m.

Sat. Jan 12, Mesabi Range 1 p.m.

Wed Jan 16, at Vermilion 5:30 p.m.

Fri Jan 18, Fond du Lac Tribal 5:30 p.m.

Sat Jan 19, at Rainy River 1 p.m.

Wed. Jan 23, at Itasca 5:30 p.m.

Sat Jan 26, Hibbing 1 p.m.

Wed Jan 30, Northland 5:30 p.m.

Sat Feb 2, Lake Superior College 1 p.m.

Wed Feb 6, at Mesabi Range 5:30 p.m.

Fri Feb 8, at Hibbing 5:30 p.m.

Sat Feb 9, Vermilion 1 p.m.

Wed Feb 13, Itasca 5:30 p.m.

Wed Feb 20, at Fond du Lac Tribal 5:30 p.m.

Sat. Feb 23, Rainy River 1 p.m.

Related Topics: COLLEGE BASKETBALL
What To Read Next
Former Brainerd Warrior Olivia King is enjoying her senior season as a member of the University of Minnesota Gopher women's hockey team.
The Central Lakes College Raiders traveled to Ely to face Vermilion.
The Central Lakes College Raiders landed six student-athletes on Elite Team
Quigley enjoyed a big week for CLC.